History of the Ohio State Buckeyes

The Ohio State Buckeyes are one the most successful college sports programs, just one of four universities to win a National Championship in baseball, men’s basketball, and football. The Buckeyes have won a National Championship in eight other varsity sports, as members of the Big Ten conference. In total, Ohio State hosts 39 different varsity sports teams, including 19 men’s teams and 20 women’s programs. Some famous alumni from Ohio State include Olympic champion Jessie Owens, golf legend Jack Nicklaus, and Archie Griffin, the only two-time Heisman trophy winner.

The Ohio State football program has won seven Championships, with the most recent coming in 2002. In addition to their national titles, the Buckeyes have also won 35 Big Ten Conference Championships, including five in a row from 2005 to 2009. Eddie George and Troy Smith join Griffin as the most recent Heisman trophy winners from the school. The most famous head coach of the program was Woody Hayes, who led the Buckeyes in the historic series against the Michigan Wolverines and their head coach Bo Schembechler.(All Ohio State programs have a heated rivalry with the Michigan Wolverines, who return the favor by despising all things scarlet and grey.) Hayes led Ohio State to five of their National Championships, while amassing a record of 205-61-10.

The men’s basketball team has also performed well throughout the school’s history, playing in 10 Final Fours of the NCAA Tournament. Their lone National Championship came in 1960, when the team was led by basketball Hall of Famers Jerry Lucas and John Havlicek. Legendary head coach Bobby Knight was also a member of the team, coming off the bench for head coach Fred Taylor. Currently, the team has entered into a resurgent period of dominance, following several years of sub par performances.